Mission Statement

"To make decisions that reflect the public opinions and that will improve the state of the county."

The Legislative body of county government is called the Quorum Court and is composed of 9, 11, 13, or 15 members depending on the population of the County. Carroll County is composed of 11 members. Quorum Court members are called Justices of the Peace and are elected for two- year terms from districts within the county. These district officials meet each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The County Judge is the presiding officer over the Quorum Court and has no voting power, but does have the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the Quorum Court (ACA 14-14-402, 14-14-904, 14-14-912).

The Quorum Court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to:

  • The levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law;
  • Appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county through ordinance;
  • Preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony;
  • For any public purpose, contract or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States;
  • Create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action;
  • Fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees;
  • Fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law
  • Fill vacancies in elected county offices;
  • Provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs;
  • To exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and functions (ACA 14-14-801).

(Arkansas Association of Counties)